43 candidates file to run for open council seats in Iron County cities and towns

People wait in line to vote at Cedar City offices, Cedar City, Utah, Nov. 6, 2018 | File photo by Jeff Richards, St. George News / Cedar City News

CEDAR CITY — Some 43 candidates have officially filed to run for municipal offices in Iron County’s seven incorporated cities and towns.

Shortly after Friday’s deadline had passed at the close of the business day, Iron County Clerk Jon Whittaker provided Cedar City News with a list of the candidates who have filed.

In cases where there are more than two candidates per open seat, a primary election will be held Aug. 13 to narrow down the field for the general election on Nov. 5. All of Iron County’s races will once again be conducted by mail-in ballot, Whittaker said. As the municipal races are nonpartisan, any registered voter who lives within the designated boundaries of the city or town in question may vote in its primary.

The most crowded field is those vying for the Cedar City Council races, with 13 candidates, including two incumbents, seeking three open seats. Incumbent Paul Cozzens, who was elected last year to the Iron County Commission, is not seeking a third term on the Cedar City Council.

Cedar City – Three City Council seats open

  • Craig E. Isom – Incumbent
  • Terri W. Hartley – Incumbent
  • Stephanie Flores
  • Brittanie Parry
  • Danny Strand
  • Chris Dahlin
  • T.J Penrod
  • Don Oswald
  • Barry Evan Short
  • Stephen Gwin
  • W. Tyler Melling
  • Adam Hahn
  • Carrissa Smith

Brian Head – Two Town Council seats open

  • Larry R. Freeberg – Incumbent
  • Kelly Marshall – Incumbent
  • Cecile-Marie Wallis
  • Shaun Kelly

Cedar Highlands – Two Town Council seats open

  • Paul G. Starks – Incumbent
  • Linda D. Stetzenbach – Incumbent
  • Robert W. Shelton
  • Jim Byler
  • Robert Yates
  • Simon Saw

Enoch – Three City Council seats open

  • Shawn Stoor – Incumbent
  • David Harris
  • West Harris

Kanarraville – Two Town Council seats open

  • Stone Shugart – Incumbent
  • J. Tyler Allred – Incumbent
  • Velrina M. Geraghty
  • Scott M Baxter
  • Michael Humes
  • Mandi Williams
  • Sandy Fullman
  • Scott Winger

Parowan – Two 4-year City Council seats, one 2-year seat open

  • Vickie L. Hicks – 4-year Incumbent
  • Jim Shurtleff – 2-year Incumbent
  • David M. Burton
  • Dayla Ulrich
  • Matthew Gale

Paragonah – Two Town Council seats open

  • Marjorie Cipkar – Incumbent
  • Michael Abbott – Incumbent
  • Nancy M. Dalton
  • Jessica A. Stewart

Email: [email protected]

Twitter: @STGnews

Copyright St. George News, SaintGeorgeUtah.com LLC, 2019, all rights reserved.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!