Southern Utah high school student-athletes named to Academic All-State teams for fall sports

Detail of a Utah High School Activities Association Academic All-State award certificate, Cedar City, Utah, Nov. 12, 2018 | Photo by Jeff Richards, St. George News / Cedar City News

ST. GEORGE — The Utah High School Activities Association recently announced Academic All-State teams for each of the fall sports.

The prestigious awards are presented statewide to Utah high school senior athletes who have maintained cumulative grade-point averages at or near a perfect 4.0. An award certificate is issued to each of the recipients.

Following is a listing of the Academic All-State winners from Southern Utah’s Region 9, which comprises seven 4A schools in St. George, Hurricane and Cedar City:

Girls cross-country
Eliza Allen, Cedar; Summer Bryson, Cedar; Kate Webster, Cedar; Macie Barney, Desert Hills; Bailey Brinkerhoff, Desert Hills; Chloe Kockler, Desert Hills; Samantha Nelson, Desert Hills; Jade Poulton, Desert Hills; Madison Hirschi, Hurricane; Rianna Holland, Hurricane; Ashley Lisonbee, Hurricane; Sylvia Brown, Pine View; and Hallie Steel, Snow Canyon.

First-place finisher Caleb Armstrong of Hurricane in boys varsity race at the Southern Utah University Invitational high school cross-country meet, Cedar City, Utah, Aug. 25, 2018 | File photo by Jeff Richards, St. George News / Cedar City News

Boys cross-country
Cooper Despain, Pine View; Tavin Borrowman, Pine View; Caleb Armstrong, Hurricane; Nathan Vaughan, Dixie; Luke Burton, Dixie; Spencer Klomp, Desert Hills; Stephen Engst, Cedar; Dallen Corry, Cedar; and Michael Judd, Canyon View.

Girls tennis
Maeci Hicken, Hurricane; Sydney Dobson, Hurricane; Ashley Stevens, Dixie; Annie Heaton, Dixie; Angela Crooks, Dixie; Keely Madsen, Desert Hills; MaKaty Thorley, Cedar; London Richards, Cedar; and Kennedy Nielsen, Cedar.

David Park, Snow Canyon; Austin Wright, Hurricane; Travis Muir, Dixie; Ethan Emerson, Dixie; Karston Bauman, Dixie; Andrew Giles, Desert Hills; Enoka Fuailetolo, Desert Hills; Bronson Andrus, Desert Hills; Trajan Nielson, Cedar; McCray Webster, Canyon View; and Braydon Cavalieri, Canyon View.

Boys golf
Yash Vyas, Dixie.

Katelyn Philips, Desert Hills; Makinzie Kelsch, Dixie; Anna Mitchell, Dixie; Alexis Martin, Hurricane; Kelsey Gifford, Pine View; and Samantha Johnston, Snow Canyon.

Girls soccer
Sarah Sowards, Canyon View; Drew Morby, Desert Hills; Abigail Larkin, Dixie; Kaite Reid, Dixie; Brooklyn Clayton, Hurricane; Tiara Cafferty, Pine View; Alena Lorentzen, Pine View; and Amanda Bradshaw, Snow Canyon.

Additionally, the following athletes from 1A and 2A schools in the Southern Utah area also received Academic All-State honors:

2A girls cross-country
Kangie Bundy, Enterprise; Tressa Carter, Enterprise; Camille Beckstrand, Millard; Aimee Davenport, Millard; and Violet Miller, Millard.

2A boys cross-country
Mason Bartlett, Beaver; Broderick Pollman, Beaver; Keldon Nelson, Enterprise; Dylan Bistline, Kanab; Jaren Camo, Millard; and Alexander Wall, Millard.

1A girls cross-country
Emma Beesley, Bryce Valley; Dallie Johnson, Bryce Valley; Corryn Anderson, Panguitch; and Brittney Henrie, Panguitch.

1A boys cross-country
Nathaniel Sarles, Panguitch; Dallen Torgerson, Panguitch; and James Jeffs, Water Canyon.

1A baseball
Dallen Torgersen, Panguitch; Clayton Pearson, Piute; Kody Sylvester, Piute; Logan Dean, Valley; Cameron Franklin, Valley; Orrin Wood, Valley; and Traven Peterson, Wayne.

L-R: McCall Tebbs, Brittney Henrie and Kapri Orton, Panguitch High seniors who made the 1A Academic All-State volleyball team, pose with state championship trophy, Orem, Utah, Oct. 27, 2018 | File photo courtesy of Panguitch High Athletics, St. George News / Cedar City News

2A volleyball
Taylynn Brown, Beaver; Ashlynn Limb, Beaver; and Alexis Haycock, Kanab.

1A volleyball
Brittney Henrie, Panguitch; Brooklyn “Kapri” Orton, Panguitch; McCall Tebbs, Panguitch; Ashlynn Spencer, Valley; and Hannah Morrill, Wayne.

2A girls soccer
Camille Beckstrand, Millard; and Emily Gurr, Parowan.

2A football
Spencer Williams, Beaver; Tyler Hess, Enterprise; Ryan Holt, Enterprise; Dillon Lund, Millard; and Daniel Horton, Parowan.

To view all of the Academic All-State recipients, visit the UHSAA’s website and click on the link to the desired sport. The awards are sponsored by the Deseret News.

Email: [email protected]

Twitter: @STGnews

Copyright St. George News, LLC, 2018, all rights reserved.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.