MVP Dream Weaver heads all-Region 9 softball team

Cedar shortstop Dream Weaver was named softball MVP for Region 9 | Photo courtesy of Jennifer Weaver, St. George News / Cedar City News

ST. GEORGE — Dream Weaver, Cedar High’s standout shortstop, leads the recently selected all-region softball team as Region 9’s most valuable player.

Weaver, along with fellow all-region first team members Pua Johnson, Bryton Holyoak and Denim Henkel, helped lead the Lady Reds to an undefeated 12-0 record during the regular season. After capturing the region championship, Cedar won its first three state playoff games and ended up placing third in the 4A state tournament.

Cedar’s Dream Weaver connects with a high pitch against Canyon View, March 2018 | Photo courtesy of Jennifer Weaver, St. George News / Cedar City News

Weaver finished her senior season with a .567 batting average, driving in 32 runs and scoring 43 times. She hit 12 home runs and 14 doubles during the season and only struck out once, said her head coach and father, Chris Weaver.

Defensively, she made just two errors out of 101 opportunities at shortstop.

Weaver, who has signed to play softball for Southern Utah University starting this fall, graduated from Cedar High with honors and a 4.0 GPA. She made the 4A Academic All-State team in three sports, volleyball, basketball and softball.

Following are the Region 9 all-region softball team selections, as voted upon by the coaches:

Region 9 first team all-region

Desert Hills’ Brianna St. Clair pitches against Cedar, St. George, Utah, May 5, 2017, | File photo by Robert Hoppie,, St. George News

Dream Weaver, Cedar (MVP); Pua Johnson, Cedar; Denim Henkel, Cedar; Bryton Holyoak, Cedar; Brianna St. Clair, Desert Hills; Addi Betts, Desert Hills; Katelyn Philips, Desert Hills; Alex Deming, Snow Canyon; Natalie Gunn, Snow Canyon; Jordan Nielson, Canyon View; Camry Higgins, Canyon View; Abby Neilson, Pine View; Sydney McArthur, Pine View; and Hannah Thompson, Hurricane.

Region 9 second team all-region

Abby Anderson, Cedar; Amanda Cardon, Cedar; Allie Meisner, Cedar; Morgynn Rosemeyer, Desert Hills; Tori Hinton, Desert Hills; Payten Jensen, Snow Canyon; Marley Moala, Snow Canyon; Taylee Braegger, Canyon View; Kaitlyn Lacy, Canyon View; Hallie Linford, Pine View; Haven Smith, Hurricane; Chantell Pearson, Hurricane; Kylee Terrell, Dixie; and Kylee Tiffany, Dixie.

Region 9 honorable mention

Sage Oldroyd, Cedar; Shaun Bauman, Cedar; Courtney Averett, Snow Canyon; Leachel Barlow, Pine View; Kylie Donovan, Pine View; and Chayden Chong, Dixie.

Email: [email protected]

Twitter: @STGnews

Copyright St. George News, LLC, 2018, all rights reserved.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.