For Small Business Week, IRS features webinar series for entrepreneurs

Stock image | St. George News

PHOENIX, Ariz. — The Internal Revenue Service is marking National Small Business Week, which runs from May 1 – 7, by encouraging small business owners and self-employed individuals to check out several products to help them understand and meet their tax obligations.

The products include a series of educational webinars to help businesses not only be tax compliant, but also to help their businesses thrive. The webinars start at 2 p.m. Eastern time; 1 p.m. Central time; 12 p.m. Mountain time and 11 a.m. Pacific time. Each webinar topic has a tax tip or fact sheet with more information:

  • May 2: “Tax Tips for your New Business,”  register here.
  • May 3: “Staying Afloat: Planning for Emergencies Before they Happen,”  register here.
  • May 4: “Worker Classification: Employee or Independent Contractor?” (in Spanish),  register here.
  • May 5 “Tip Reporting and Tips vs. Service Charges,”  Register here.

Other Small Business Products

  • The IRS video portal contains video and audio presentations on a variety of topics of interest to small businesses.
  • The IRS YouTube video channel also offers videos for small businesses.
  • The Small Business and Self-Employed Tax Center  is a complete online resource featuring links to a variety of useful tools.
  • The Self-Employed Individuals Tax Center is for sole proprietors and others who are in business for themselves. This site has many useful tips and references to the tax rules that a self-employed person may need to know.
  • The Online Learning and Educational Products page has tools to help taxpayers learn about taxes on their own time, and at their own pace.
  • e-News for Small Businesses is a free electronic mail service providing tax information for small business owners and self-employed individuals.
  • SSA/IRS Reporter is a quarterly, online-only publication for businesses, payroll professionals and others who deal with payroll taxes and employee issues.
  • Do some or all of your employees lack access to a retirement savings plan? You can help them get started saving for retirement with myRA, a simple, safe and affordable retirement savings option from the U.S. Treasury.

Email: news@stgnews.com

Twitter: @STGnews

 

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.