Travel advisory: I-15 shutdown south of Mesquite; reopens Sunday

Stock image for illustration shows Interstate 15 near Las Vegas, Nevada | St. George News

UPDATE: Southbound lanes reopened around 12:30 a.m. PDT / 1:30 a.m. MDT Sunday, according to Mesquite Dispatch Sunday morning.

MESQUITE, Nev. – Interstate 15 at milepost 105 between Mesquite and Moapa, Nevada, has been shutdown due to a vehicle fire, according the Mesquite Police Department.

In a 9:30 p.m. PDT/10:30 p.m. MDT update on it’s Facebook page, Mesquite Police reported that northbound lanes of I-15 had been reopened. However, motorists may still experience delays due to the traffic back-up caused by the road closure.

Southbound lanes remain closed for the time being.

Shortly after 7 p.m. PDT/8 p.m. MDT, the Mesquite Police issued a traffic advisory on its Facebook page advising motorists to expect temporary delays in both directions of travel as firefighting units out of Virgin Valley and Moapa Valley dealt with the blaze.

At around 7:40 p.m. PDT/8:40 p.m., MDT, Mesquite Police reported I-15 was completely shutdown and could remain so for several hours yet in both north and southbound directions.

While responders tended to the vehicle fire on southbound I-15, a vehicle rollover occurred on northbound I-15 around milepost 106, according to information from Utah Department of Transportation officials monitoring the situation.

Message boards have been set up southbound I-15 advising travelers to avoid the area for the time being.

According to the NDOT website, the roadway had originally been estimated to be cleared by 9 p.m. PDT/10 p.m. MDT.

This is a developing story.

Resources

Email: mkessler@stgnews.com

Twitter: @MoriKessler

Copyright St. George News, SaintGeorgeUtah.com LLC, 2015, all rights reserved.

 

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Posted in Local, NewsTagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.