MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – General Mills Inc. announced Monday that Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal products that were produced at the company’s Lodi, California, facility on certain dates in July are being recalled due to an undeclared allergen that has potential adverse health effects.
Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced over several days at the Lodi facility are being recalled due to an isolated incident that resulted in wheat flour being mistakenly introduced into the gluten-free oat flour system, according to a press release from General Mills. As a result, Cheerios products labeled “gluten-free” may contain the undeclared allergen wheat.
Affected cereals produced on the specified dates (see table below) will be recalled and retrieved from customer warehouses and store shelves by General Mills. Consumers who have wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products marked with the affected code dates, the press release said. Customers should contact General Mills to receive a replacement product or full refund.
The voluntary recall includes original Cheerios in the iconic yellow box that was produced over four days and Honey Nut Cheerios manufactured over 13 days at the Lodi facility. Affected products bear the following “Better if Used By” code dates and the plant code “LD,” which indicates the products came from the Lodi facility.
|Honey Nut Cheerios||Yellow Box Cheerios|
Illness or severe reactions can result when individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease consume products containing wheat, according to the release. Illness or discomfort can also result for individuals who have gluten intolerance.
Five varieties of General Mills’ Cheerios are being transitioned to gluten-free, according to the press release. The recall does not apply to Cheerios and Honey Nut cheerios products produced at other General Mills facilities, nor does it apply to cereal products from the Lodi facility bearing dates other than those specified. The recall does not include other gluten-free Cheerios varieties, including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and Multigrain Cheerios, nor are any other General Mills cereals affected by the recall.
Consumers wishing to request refunds or seeking further information should call General Mills Consumer Services at 800-775-8370.
- Salmonella outbreak patients number 418 nationwide; 37 cases reported in Utah
- 30 Utah residents sickened by salmonella; product recall underway
- Man arrested for theft after helping himself to another man’s cereal
Email: [email protected]
Copyright St. George News, SaintGeorgeUtah.com LLC, 2015, all rights reserved.