News short: Preliminary results, Republican county convention

ST. GEORGE – The Washington County Republican Convention is underway Saturday. Among the nominations to be made by county delegates were those for Washington County Commission Seats A and B, and those have gone to Zachary Renstrom and Victor Iverson, respectively, and for Sheriff which went to incumbent Cory Pulsipher over challenger Hank Kodele.

Five men, including incumbent James Eardley, raced for Seat A. The first round of voting narrowed the five down to three: Greg Aldred, Eardley and Renstrom. The second round of voting reduced the three to two: Eardley and Renstrom.  The final round determined Renstrom as the nominee for Seat A.

Three vied for County Commission Seat B: Chet Hughes, Iverson and Dan McArthur. Iverson took Seat B in the first round of voting. 

The nominees will face Democratic challengers Chris White for Seat A, and Paul Van Dam for Seat B.

Related posts

Email: [email protected]

Twitter: @MoriKessler

Copyright St. George News, LLC, 2014, all rights reserved.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!


  • Dorothy Engelman April 12, 2014 at 1:38 pm

    Interesting….is change really coming to Washington County???

    • Lee April 12, 2014 at 9:53 pm

      Dorothy – You can keep your change, we don’t want it here.

  • Robert April 14, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    Lee—we need change in the county and in St. George City. A socialistic mass of corruption and greed. In St George, the mayor and city council appoint the police chief and the prosecutor. All three hide corruption, i.e. the animal shelter, code enforcement, the airport, 47 million budget for less than 70K population. The county gets to raise our property tax up to 9% behind closed doors.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.