FEATURE — A winery in Toquerville? It’s true. John C. Naegle built the “Big House,” known today as “The Winery,” to use as headquarters for his business enterprises. He had to move to Mexico because of his polygamist practices, however, and the home was never finished but its historic intrigue remains.
In 1980, the building was restored and finished to be a home, which it remains today.
In Episode 58 of the “No Filter Show,” co-hosts Paul Ford and Grady Sinclair travel to Toquerville to see The Winery and meet with John Naegle’s heirs. The Winery once produced over three thousand gallons of wine in just one year; and, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints took its tithe in kind, that would be wine … for a time.
Click play above
Be one of two Paul and Grady will randomly select to win a $20 gift certificate to The Crêpery in St. George: Like or follow and share this episode via “No Filter Show” Facebook page; or “No Filter Show” on Instagram; or St. George News Facebook page.
- Naegle home and winery Web page by the Washington County Historical Society
- Daughters of Utah Pioneers, Washington County | Website
- The Crêpery at Sunset Corner, 1091 N. Bluff St., Unit 311, St. George | Telephone 435-673-4106 | Facebook page
- No Filter: Where the Redwood grows in Dixie
- Explore: A swimming hole for the soul, Toquerville Falls, outside Zion
- Families begin construction on self-help homes in Toquerville; STGnews Videocast
- Court directs Toquerville murder defendant to state mental hospital
Copyright St. George News, SaintGeorgeUtah.com LLC, 2015, all rights reserved.