Bill prohibiting long-term tethering of dogs comes before Senate committee; SB 92

SALT LAKE CITY – The Humane Society of Utah is supporting passage of SB 92, a bill in the current session of the Utah State Legislature prohibiting the long-term tethering of dogs.

The bill will prohibit keeping a dog on a chain, rope, cable or any device attached to a fixed object for longer than ten hours within a twenty-four hour period. It will also prohibit tethering a dog in any manner that would cause the dog injury and any tether that fails to provide the dog with adequate space for reasonable exercise and normal movement. Exemptions include the training, grooming or instruction of dogs on a farm, lawful hunting, fishing or trapping of wildlife and the lawful use of electronic locating or training collars.

Dogs are social animals. When left alone for long periods of time, they can become lonely, bored, anxious and develop aggressive behavior. The necks of chained dogs often become raw and sore. Chained dogs also make easy targets for wild animals, other dogs and biting insects.

SB 92 will come before the Senate Natural Resources, Agriculture and Environment Standing Committee Monday at 4 p.m. If it passes, it will be heard on the Senate floor.

Citizens may contact the following members of the committee via email and share their thoughts on the bill:

Sen. Scott K. Jenkins – sjenkins@le.utah.gov
Sen. Allen M. Christensen – achristensen@le.utah.gov

Sen. David P. Hinkins – dhinkins@le.utah.gov
Sen. Ralph Okerlund – rokerlund@le.utah.gov
Sen. Jim Dabakis – jdabakis@le.utah.gov

Sen. Peter C. Knudson – pknudson@le.utah.gov
Sen. Evan J. Vickers – evickers@le.utah.gov

The complete bill can be found here.

Submitted by: The Humane Society of Utah

Email: news@stgnews.com

Twitter: @STGnews

dog

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

3 Comments

  • Shane February 25, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    I can’t imagine anyone voting against this Bill!

  • Lina February 25, 2013 at 9:13 pm

    Never could understand why some people have animals. Lets chain you up for a few hours you big jerks! Pass this bill!

  • DoubleTap February 26, 2013 at 11:02 am

    I would support a serious bill authorizing the tethering of dog owners who do this. Summer and winter, little -to-no food, and an empty water bowl. Said law would require the tethering be NO LESS than one full week (minimum) and no longer than 6 years (maximum). They do not deserve to own dogs. I hoipe this law is passed.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.